Double inventory!

“The poem was so good, the words were so profound!

The way he uttered them was so sound!

The judge was shocked though he did fake a grin!

The poem was in fact written by him!”

In so many blogs I have discussed how the wrong inventor has been given credit and the rightful person is either neglected or forgotten! I have a special passion for this since once when I was young (er!); I had entered an essay competition and I had read several books and met my English teacher to get good points for the same! Those lines are still fresh in my memory like, Sitting in this Dingy (the first time I heard that word actually!) was one! A guy was sitting just behind me who unknown to me copied those points verbatim! I was told later that a big discussion went in the staff room on whose paper was the original! Even now I vehemently thank my English teacher who supported me in spite of the fact that the other guy was the biology Teacher’s kid! And that is why when I do something I make sure I get the credit for it! But to take credit for someone else’s work is the greatest crime according to me!

So this guy was denied of the credit of not one but two big inventions! No, it is not Tesla who I am sure would have the actual claim to many inventions denied to him but this is an ancient dude!

One of the coolest weapons in the Doom Series is the flamethrower! This amazing weapon’s creation is is generally credited to Richard Fiedler, who submitted designs for two variants of the weapon to the German military during the early 1900s!

The uncredited inventor was actually the Kallinikos of Heliopolis. 

The concept of the flamethrower goes all the way back to ancient Greece. Early flamethrowers were described by Apollodorus of Damascus as coal-powered and were used in combination with acid to crack stone walls. However, Kallinikos of Heliopolis developed the first truly effective flamethrower dubbed “Greek fire,” the weapon was used by the ancient Byzantine Empire to cripple opposing ships. A tube-like device delivered both the fuel and the flame that would ignite it, creating the flamethrower effect that would later become so famous! So Apollodorus may have been the first but maybe he did not complete the design which can explain the injustice! 

But the injustice does not stop here! 

How everyone’s favourite past time is to simply go to a mall! Well the first shopping mall is generally credited to Victor Gruen, who was instrumental in designing and building the first mall in 1954! 

In addition to his work with flamethrowers, Apollodorus of Damascus is also believed to have developed a concept very similar while working as the architect of Rome’s famed Trajan’s Market!  The building encompassed a range of market stalls and covered shops in addition to apartment buildings, making it the first true urban hub. The ruins of the market and the Trajan Forum can still be seen to this day!

So the ruins of the first mall stand tall but the credit to Apollodorus has suffered a fall! Then again some legends do not need any introduction like the legend and pride of Karnataka Singanalluru Puttaswamaiah Muthuraj aka Dr Rajkumar! A quick pen sketch on the go! 

Now credit some sleep to your body!

Shubh ratri!

Leave a comment